



DISTRICT SCOUT COUNCIL AGM MINUTES

15th June 2019 at Ullesthorpe Campsite

1. **Welcome by the District Chair.** Claire Gill, Chair, opened the Annual General Meeting at 6.15pm and welcomed everyone from different parts of the District. Apologies were noted. Around 40 people attended.

The members of the District Executive in attendance were: Rob Row (DC), Claire Gill (Chair), Jill Betts (outgoing Treasurer), Helen Campbell (incoming Treasurer) Victoria Speed (Secretary), Nic Rowe (Campsite Committee) Rik Lewis (Deputy DC), Peter Betts (Chair Appointments Committee)

- 2. **Apologies for absence** were received from: Charles and Nicky Lauder. Andy and Helen Hickinbotham, Lee Powell, Sally and Spencer Craven
- 3. **Minutes of the AGM 16th June 2018** were agreed as a true record and a signed copy retained. Proposed by Rob Longhorn and seconded by Nic Rowe.
- 4. **District Chair's Report**. Claire spoke about highlights on the last year including the recent St. George's Day events and the extensive work on the campsite.
- 5. **District Treasurer's Report**. Jill provided a report of the finances for the last year and paper copies were available for attendees to read. The report was accepted by the meeting; proposed by Ceri Sinfield and seconded by Rik Lewis.
- 6. Amends to Constitution

None this year.

- 7. Nomination of District Executive Committee
- i) Ex-officio roles: District Commissioner (DC)

Chair Claire Gill will continue

Secretary Victoria Speed will continue Proposed by Sally Beadman and seconded by Peter Betts

Treasurer Helen Campbell Proposed by Rik Lewis and seconded by Nic Rowe

Explorer Scout Leader, Elizabeth Hope

Network Commissioner

Chair of the South Leicestershire (Ullesthorpe) Campsite Nic Rowe will continue

Chair of Appointments Peter Betts will continue

ii) Elected roles: Kevin Peacocke (Executive Member), Rik Lewis (Deputy DC)

Proposed by Rob Longhorn and seconded by Ruth Sansome.

- iii) DC Nominated roles: Andy Hickinbotham (Campsite Warden)
- iv) Co-opted Members: none to announce at present

8. **Appointment of District Auditor**

Russ Wilkinson will stand down as District Auditor and the Exec committee will find someone appropriate to engage as auditor, aiming to have the new person in place by the end of November.

- 9. **Any Other Business** none
- 10. **Date of next AGM** proposed date 12th June 2020
- 11. **Close of meeting**. Claire closed the AGM business at 6.28 pm

Break for food

12. Comments from District Commissioner (DC) Rob Row and recognition awards.

Rob talked about all the fantastic events that have taken place this outside of regular Scout meetings. He has undertaken an extensive survey of Scouters to determine priorities in the District and he spoke about his three priorities of people, programme and promotion. See separate document.

13 Recognition awards

- Eight Young Leader belts have been achieved and three Young Leaders were present to collect their awards.
- A special St George's Day award for 'unsung heroes' was made along with Platinum and Diamond Awards.
- ADC Beavers Sarah Lashbrook was presented with flowers and thanks for the recent Beaver sleepover with 120 Beavers and 40 leaders.
- Thanks were also given to Peter Betts for his work as Chair of the Appointments Committee and to the four leaders who organized the Cub Camp (taking place on 28/6 30/6).
- Wood beads were presented to Chris Row
- Elizabeth Hope was recognized for completing the Adult Leadership and Management Training.
- Trevor deHaro for long service.
- Michael and Sarah Lashbrook were also thanked for their work on St George's Day.
- Rik Lewis was thanks for managing the nights' away permit scheme.
- Mo Black and Christine Hancock were thanked for all their work as they are stepping down from current roles.

13. Comments from County Commissioner, Carol Black. Carol also closed the meeting at 8.10pm